Creating a Restricted User and Assigning Dashboards or Reports

Required Permissions Level: Administrator

A restricted user will only have access to reports and/or dashboards shared with them by others.  This user will not be able to create additional reports or dashboards, and will not be able to change enforced filters on reports or dashboards shared with them.  To create a restricted user, and give access to specific reports and dashboards, please follow the instructions below.

 

Creating the User:
Step 1: On the Sidebar Menu, click on Administrator Tools (the small gear) to navigate to the administration interface to create and manage user access to your Brightmetrics services.
 
Step 2: Click Add New User at the top of the page.
 
 
Step 3: A popup will appear where you will enter the new user’s information and choose the Role of Restricted User as shown here:
 
 
Step 4: You will then go through the steps to confirm if the new user will or will not have any dashboard tabs or you can choose to create some for the restricted user, and then choose Add User:
 
 
Granting Access to Dashboards:
Step 5: To grant access to an existing Dashboard, click on the pencil below the Dashboard name
 
Step 6: Select Permissions, and then adjust the toggle to show ALL USERS and adjust the permissions level on the dashboard to view and click okay.
 
 
*Note:* The restrictions are based on 1) the filters you have configured for each chart on this dashboard and 2) the tab permission you assign when adding the user to this dashboard.  To see the filters applied, click on the 3 dots menu on the top right and select Chart Options:
 
PCFilter.png
 
Then choose the filters button on the bottom and any filters you see currently listed under "Current Filters" are ones that are being applied. This determines what fields the user is restricted from changing. In this example, the user will not be able to select another Queue Name or Disposition when they drill into the details on the dashboard:
QueueName.png
 
Sharing Reports:
Step 7: From the Sidebar Menu, click on Reports.
Step 8: Select the Saved Reports radio button
Step 9: Select the name of the report to which you want to provide access
Step 10: Click into Fields and Layout to Edit
 
PC1.png
 
Step 11: Click on the lock to the right of any filters you would like to be enforced; this will prevent the user from being able to select other options for that filter on this report.  This will apply to all users with View access to this report. In this example, the Workgroup Name has been locked and the user will only be able to run the report for the Admin Services workgroup.
 
PC2.png
 
Step 12: Once your filters are locked as desired, click Save at the top to apply the changes.
Step 13: In your Saved Reports list or on the top of your report, click the 3 dots menu to the right of the report name that you wish to share:
 
 
Step 14: In the drop-down on the right, select Edit Permissions.
Step 15: Adjust the user you want to have restricted permissions on the report to view.
Step 16: Click okay.
 
 
Questions or feedback? Please email us at [email protected].
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.