Removing or Disabling a Brightmetrics User

As of Sep 2017, ShoreTel has been acquired by Mitel; the product titles and images used in this article may not accurately reflect the official product titles post-acquisition. This includes subjects contained in the imagery of brightmetrics' user interface.

 

Required Permissions Level: Company Administrator

When removing a user from your account, it's important to know that any schedules set up by the user, as well as dashboards and/or reports that they are the only user with access to, will also be deleted from the account.  By transferring ownership of the items owned by the user, you can keep the schedules, dashboards and reports as they are, without interruption.  Below we'll walk you through the process of checking for these things prior to removing a user. 

Step 1: Disabling the User

By disabling the user, you're preventing them from logging into the account.  Their reports and dashboards will still be available to other users with access, but any schedules they have set up will be suspended while they are disabled.  

To disable the user, follow the steps outlined below:

  1. From the Sidebar Menu, select Users
  2. By default, you will be on User Management in the drop-down. If you were already on the Users page, you may need to select User Management here
  3. Click on Disable to the far right of a user's email address
  4. Select Save Changes at the bottom of the user list

Removing_User_SS_1.jpg

 

Step 2: Taking ownership of scheduled entries

Now that the user is disabled, we'll check to see if there are any scheduled entries that you need to take ownership of in order for the dashboards or reports to be emailed. 

  1. On the Users page, select Scheduled by User in the top drop-down
  2. Look for the user's email address in the left column.  If you don't see their email address listed, then they don't have any schedules that need to be addressed and you can skip steps 3 and 4 here, and move on to "Taking Ownership of Dashboards" below.
  3. Click the first icon in the far right column to transfer ownership of the schedule from this user to yourself
  4. Click Confirm in the popup and the scheduled entry is now under your login and will continue to be generated as expected  

*Note: You will need to repeat steps 3 and 4 above for each scheduled entry the user has listed.*

Removing_a_User_SS_2.jpg

 

Step 3: Taking ownership of Dashboards

Next, we look to see if the user has access to any dashboards either a) not shared with others, or b) is the only Admin user on. 

  1. On the Users page, select Users by Dashboard in the top drop-down
  2. Look for any line items where the user you've disabled is the only user listed. If you don't see any listed for them you can skip steps 3-6 here and move on to "Taking ownership of Reports" below.
  3. Click on the dashboard name 
  4. In the popup, appoint another user as an Admin
  5. Click Okay to save the changes
  6. Repeat steps 3-5 for any dashboards where the disabled user is the only user or only Admin on the dashboard 

 

Removing_a_User_SS_3.jpg

 

Step 4: Taking ownership of Reports

Similarly to what we checked with the dashboards, we need to see if the user has reports that aren't shared with others, or they're the only Admin user on. 

  1. On the Users page, select Users by On-Demand Report in the top drop-down
  2. Look for any line items where the user you've disabled is the only user listed, OR is the only Admin user. If they don't have any listed, you can skip steps 3-6 here and move on to "Removing the User from the Account" below. 
  3. Click on the report name 
  4. In the popup, appoint another user as an Admin
  5. Click Okay to save the changes
  6. Repeat steps 3-5 for any reports where the disabled user is the only user or only Admin on the report

 

Removing_a_User_SS4.jpg 

Step 5: Removing the User from the Account

Now that we've reassigned dashboards, reports and schedules, it's safe to remove the user from your account.   

  1. On the Users page, select User Management in the top drop-down
  2. Un-check the first box next to the user's email address under View Company Data
  3. Select Save Changes

Removing_a_User_SS_5.jpg

 

If you have any questions regarding Brightmetrics' Mitel (ShoreTel) Reporting and Data Analytics Services, please email us at support@brightmetrics.com.

Related Articles:

Adding a BrightMetrics User

Creating a Restricted User and Assigning Dashboards or Reports 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.